Penalties for Soliciting Prostitution in Denver
Prostitution remains a crime in most US states, Colorado included. Actually, only Nevada permits “the world’s oldest profession,” and even then, only 28 brothels in the state have been licensed for it.
Whether you support this highly controversial law or not, engaging in prostitution, pimping, pandering, solicitation, or any other activity that promotes trade is a crime that carries heavy penalties. Prostitution-related offenses in Colorado are referred to as morality crimes – a terminology your Denver criminal defense attorney can help you understand better.
What does prostitution solicitation mean?
Soliciting for prostitution can be defined as offering or accepting money or any other form of payment in exchange for sex. The specific intent to practice prostitution must be proven for it to be legally regarded as solicitation. Examples of conduct that can demonstrate the specific intent include:
- Withdrawing money from an ATM
- Going to a hotel room with the prostitute
- Letting the prostitute into your car
Colorado law allows prosecutors to press charges against you even if the sexual act didn’t take place at all. Prostitution solicitation is to some extent a crime of words which may include the supposed client, the prostitute, pimps, and any other intermediary that may have been involved in trying to materialize the transaction.
For instance, if Craig has a friend called Joe, who knows of a prostitute that he plans to connect Craig with. If Joe talks the prostitute into meeting Craig with the clear intent of getting the two to engage in sex, and the prostitute agrees on condition she will receive monetary compensation, Joe and the prostitute can be charged with solicitation for prostitution. If Craig, on the other hand, agrees to engage in sex with the prostitute and agrees to pay her and the two walk to his car or a hotel room where the sex is supposed to take place, he will also face charges for soliciting prostitution.
Penalties for soliciting prostitution
If you are arrested for soliciting a prostitute in Denver, you are likely to face misdemeanor charges. First-time offenders may be ordered to pay a fine of up to $750, sentenced to at most six months in jail, or handed both penalties. Bills have been tabled by Colorado lawmakers to increase the fine for prostitution solicitation to a $5,000-10,000 in a bid to reduce the annual estimate of $60 million being spent on prostitutes in the state.
The penalties for prostitution, which is considered a Class 3 misdemeanor offense, are virtually the same for the first offense. The most discernible difference is the mandatory HIV test that you must take if you are convicted of prostitution.
Prostitution and soliciting prostitution in Denver are bound by laws you may find difficult to comprehend. Each case is unique, and you may assume evidence against you is insufficient when the case, in the eyes of the law, is strong and could lead to a conviction. With the help of a criminal defense attorney, you will be in a better position to understand the exact details of what you are up against and what to do to avoid conviction.